Celebrating Trailblazers in Legal Diversity: Nominations Now Open for the Justice William E. McAnulty Jr. Trailblazer Award

The LBA's Diversity & Inclusion Committee is thrilled to announce that nominations are now open for the prestigious Annual Justice William E. McAnulty Jr. Trailblazer Award. Nominations will be accepted until December 15.

This award honors those who have made significant strides in promoting racial and ethnic diversity within the legal profession. Established in 2003, the Trailblazer Award honors Justice William E. McAnulty Jr., the first African American to serve on the Kentucky Supreme Court. The Trailblazer Award has been a symbol of distinction and recognition for those who have demonstrated exemplary leadership, embodying the principles of diversity, equity and inclusion. 

The Trailblazer Award seeks to acknowledge and celebrate individuals who have not only been leaders in the legal community but have also played a pivotal role in driving legal and social change in the context of diversity and inclusion. The recipients of this honor are those who have left an indelible mark on the legal profession by fostering a more inclusive and diverse environment. 

The Justice William E. McAnulty Jr. Trailblazer Award Recipient Is Recognized For:

  1. Advocacy for Racial Equity and Justice: Demonstrating a commitment to supporting and advancing racial equity and justice through the legal system and legislative channels.
  2. Promoting Diversity and Inclusion: Championing the values of diversity, inclusion, and cultural competency to enhance cultural awareness among their peers and within the community.
  3. Building Partnerships: Creating partnerships that strengthen diversity and foster collaboration within the legal community.
  4. Advancing Diversity, Equity and Inclusion: Making tangible contributions towards progress in diversity, equity and inclusion in the legal field.
  5. Dedication to Awareness: Showing unwavering dedication and a continuing commitment to raising awareness about the importance of diversity.
  6. Impact on Legal Diversity: Having a significant impact in improving racial and ethnic diversity within the legal profession.
  7. Community Outreach: Leading or participating in community outreach programs aligned with the LBA's mission to promote diversity.

The Justice William E. McAnulty Jr. Trailblazer Award will be presented at the LBA's Black History Month Program in February (date TBA). The recipient will be selected by the LBA's Diversity Committee, a group committed to championing diversity and inclusion within the legal community. 

Members of the Louisville Bar Association are crucial in the nomination process. This is a unique opportunity to recognize and celebrate the trailblazers among us who have dedicated their careers to shaping a more diverse, inclusive and equitable legal landscape. 

To nominate a deserving candidate for the Justice William E. McAnulty Jr. Trailblazer Award, please click here to submit before the deadline on December 15

For more information about the award and the nomination process, please contact Lisa Anspach at lanspach@loubar.org.  

In celebrating these trailblazers, we take another step towards a more inclusive and equitable future for the legal profession. Join us in honoring those who lead the way in championing diversity and inclusion within the legal community. 

 Previous Trailblazer Award Winners:

  • Leslie G. Clemmons (posthumosly), 2022 
  • Laura Rothstein, 2021 
  • Gwendolyn Horton, 2020 
  • Sen. Gerald Neal, 2019 
  • Daniel Hall, 2018 
  • Carolyn Miller-Cooper, 2017 
  • Joseph P. Gutmann, 2016 
  • Raoul Cunningham & Georgia Davis Powers, 2015  
  • Cedric M. Powell, 2014 
  • Hon. Joan “Toni” Stringer, 2013 
  • Darryl T. Owens, 2012 
  • Raymond M. Burse, 2011 
  • Laura M. Douglas, 2010 
  • Chief Justice Joseph E. Lambert, 2009 
  • Hon. Denise M. Clayton, 2008 
  • Justice William E. McAnulty Jr., 2007 
  • J. Michael Brown, 2006 
  • Hon. Benjamin Shobe, 2005 
  • Ernest A. Jasmin, 2004
  • Hon. Janice Martin, 2003