The following LBA members have been recognized for notable contributions to the Louisville legal community and beyond.


Judge of the Year
Hon. Paula F. Sherlock

Judge Paula Sherlock assumed the position of chief judge of Jefferson Family Court shortly before six newly-elected judges – a majority of the 10-member court – took the bench.  In nominating her for this award, those same judges wrote:  “Because Judge Sherlock has acted as chief during a term which included six brand new family court judges, she has also acted in the role that we have affectionately dubbed ‘den mother’. . . On a regular basis, Judge Sherlock walks the three floors of the Judicial Center which make up Family Court, checking in on each new judge.”  In conferring this award, the LBA acknowledges her exemplary performance on the bench as well as her dedication to making smooth and seamless what could have been a difficult and disruptive transition for Jefferson Family Court.


Justice Martin E. Johnstone Special Recognition Award
Douglass Farnsley

Douglass Farnsley has risen through the ranks of the Kentucky Bar Association to become its president, a volunteer position that requires an enormous commitment of time and energy on behalf of lawyers all across the Commonwealth.  Among other accomplishments, he played a key role in planning and presenting the first statewide Diversity and Inclusion Summit in April 2015 which brought together attorneys and judges from diverse backgrounds to explore practical ways to help the legal profession more closely reflect the public it serves.  A partner at Stites & Harbison, he is also an effective advocate who belongs to three invitation-only organizations:  the American College of Trial Lawyers, the International Academy of Trial Lawyers and the International Society of Barristers.


Judge Benjamin F. Shobe Civility & Professionalism Award
Susan D. Phillips

Susan D. Phillips, a partner at Phillips Parker Orberson & Arnett and a Master in the Louis D. Brandeis Inn of Court, is a seasoned litigator who is widely respected for promoting the highest ethical standards in the legal profession.  She has dutifully performed the thankless tasks of a trial commissioner in disciplinary matters for the Kentucky Bar Association and is the first woman in Kentucky to be inducted as a Fellow in the American College of Trial Lawyers.  During her tenure as LBA president in 2014, she made civility and collegiality amongst attorneys a priority, aptly observing that “(w)e spend entirely too much time communicating via e-mail rather than picking up the phone and having a civil, professional conversation – or even more rare, a face-to-face discussion – when we are not seeing eye to eye.”


Paul G. Tobin Pro Bono Service Award
Jeffrey A. Been

Jeffrey A. Been recently retired as executive director of the Louisville Legal Aid Society after 23 years of faithful service during which he oversaw a move to new offices, a 30 percent growth in annual funding, a 60 percent growth in attorney and private gifts and 100 percent increase in clients served annually.  Reflecting on his time with Legal Aid, which provides free civil legal services to the poor and other vulnerable populations, he remarked, “I have been privileged to work alongside colleagues who share the same passion for improving the conditions of our client community . . . It is demanding work that does not always garner the spotlight but it is important work that advances families in crisis, empowers the disabled and protects those living at the margins who most need the protection of the law.”


Frank E. Haddad Jr. Young Lawyer Award
Ebert H. Haegele


Frederick W. Moore III

Ebert H. Haegele and Frederick W. Moore III are co-recipients of this award named in honor of a legendary criminal defense lawyer and lion of the trial bar.  Mr. Haegele, a graduate of the University of Louisville Brandeis School of Law, is an Assistant Commonwealth’s Attorney working in the narcotics unit.  He previously served as an Assistant Jefferson County Attorney.  Mr. Washington, a graduate of the University of Kentucky College of Law, works in the adult trial division of the Louisville Metro Public Defender’s Office.  He is currently participating in the LBA’s Leadership Academy.  In the early stages of their careers, both have demonstrated the skill, work ethic and devotion to client interests personified by this award’s namesake.


Committee of the Year
 Judicial Evaluation Committee
Hon. Martin E. Johnstone, Chair

The Judicial Evaluation Committee, chaired by Hon. Martin E. Johnstone, is charged with conducting annual evaluations of judges sitting in Jefferson County by those in the best position to assess their performance on the bench – the attorneys who regularly practice before them.  Over the years, the evaluation results have helped identify areas where the judges can improve and equipped citizens with useful information about the men and women who hold important judicial offices.  In 2015, the committee introduced a new electronic method of evaluating the judges which was not only more cost-effective but also helped increase attorney participation.


Section of the Year (tie)

Labor & Employment Section
Joseph A. Bilby, Chair

The Labor & Employment Law Section, chaired by Joseph A. Bilby, planned and presented an impressive lineup of continuing legal education seminars and contributed thoughtful and informative articles to Bar Briefs.  It also engaged in public service, serving a meal at the Ronald McDonald House.


Young Lawyers Section
Brian M. Bennett, Chair

The Young Lawyers Section, chaired by Brian M. Bennett, helped the LBA’s newest members assimilate into the association as well as the local legal community through regular meetings and a series of social events and educational events throughout the year.  It also engaged in public service, raising funds for Kosair Charities.